#acwri challenge so far

A couple of posts back I challenged myself to write at least 100 words per day of academic writing, over and above essay marking comments (I would only include them if I did 100 words of something else as well. But did want to include them, mainly because they take so much time and effort!). I realise this is hardly riveting reading, but here’s my progress so far as much as an encouragement to me to keep going as anything else:

1 May: reflective diary, 300+ words
2 May: reflective diary, 140 words
3 May: reflective diary, c250 words
4 May: fail. But good intentions for the weekend!
5 May: outline of book review, c100 words. Also around 1500 words (conservative estimate) of essay marking comments.
6 May: revised conference paper – words unknown (a few added, a few taken out, bibliography added), plus around 300 words (again conservative estimate) of essay marking comments.
7 May: notes on articles read for work project, c800 words
8 May: blog entry (book review), c900 words
9 May: notes on articles read for work project, c500 words. Plus around 300 words of essay marking comments.
10 May: notes on articles read for work project, c300 words
11 May: notes on articles read for work project, c500 words. Plus one side of A5 (c150 words) notes in preparation for a talk I’m giving next month (more on that when it happens).
12 May: fail.
13 May: fail. (I have though been doing tons of marking this weekend – just no other academic writing so much as it pains me, the words don’t count!).

Next week my plans are:

1. More marking (sigh), plus tutorial preparation.
2. More reading at work.
3. Firm up next month’s talk.
4. Firm up next month’s conference paper.

Leave a Reply

